Ep 27 “Sleepaway Camp” (1983)

This week we commenced our annual, month-long, horror-stromboli with a camp horror-movie that continues to scar viewers thirty four years later. Normally viewer trauma is attributed to a single, disturbing shot, the final shot of the film. I’m not going to spoil that one for you. Here’s what we will do, however…

vlcsnap-2016-10-02-15h49m08s055

I’m going to show you the greatest parade of short shorts we’ve ever seen. And I’m not going to lie — my original intent was to write up a nice synopsis with clever jokes. But the movie is a pretty wrote slasher that features, as they seemed to, some element of cross-dressing. Nothing super captivating. But as time went on I realized I was captivated by shots like this:

vlcsnap-2016-10-02-15h59m46s955

and soon I discovered why. It’s the shorts. Then I found more.

vlcsnap-2016-10-02-16h03m44s206

and more…

vlcsnap-2016-10-02-16h06m19s606

Honestly, the fact that I can’t not post them probably says more about me than about the movie. I’m comfortable with that. After all, I wear short shorts, too. I think I’ve finally found my people.

vlcsnap-2016-10-02-16h07m39s940

When you’re finished listening to the podcast, head on over to our audio commentary tracks page and download a free riff of the movie to sync up with your copy of the film. After that, go play outside, but don’t overdress.

Leave a Reply

