Ep. 19: “Black Christmas” (1974)

Merry Holidays everyone! This week we watch the 1974 film “Black Christmas” for no particular reason at all. Pure coincidence, I assure you.

Image

Actually, I’m kidding. We watched this because December 25 is national haberdashers’ day, and if there’s one thing “Black Christmas” means to us, it’s silly hats, or just a sort general hat awareness. Let me show you some of the highlights of the rich panoply of silly hats in this movie.

Here is one of the main characters. She pulls triple duty, modeling several of the movie’s hats.

Image

Image

Here is another. I liked her, but her taste in hats is every bit as horrifying as everyone else’s in this film. I think that’s why it’s considered a horror movie.

Image

Here are some more:

ImageImageImage

Here is one that’s hard to see, but I promise you it’s a silly hat he’s wearing.

Image

Here’s another:

Image

Here’s children in silly hats, from the front and the back:

ImageImage

More:

ImageImageImage

And finally, here’s the strangest hat of all, even for this movie. They kept showing it, too, for some reason. Looks dangerous to me.

Image

If you’d like to learn more about the haberdasher’s trade, head on over to our audio commentary tracks page and listen to us watch the movie. After that, go play outside. Wear something on your head, and wear it with pride.

Leave a comment